Rebecca Bradley

Castlegar, British Columbia


Rebecca Bradley was born in Vancouver, and showed early signs of a serious lifelong addiction to both reading and writing. She studied archaeology, eventually gaining a PhD from Cambridge; but, as well as working as archaeologist in Egypt and the Sudan, she has put in time as a housewife in Northern Ireland, a technical editor in Kuwait, a desktop publisher in Hong Kong, a teacher of archaeology and creative writing in Calgary and Berlin, and a writer in all those places.

Since 2010, Rebecca has lived happily on an acreage in Ootischenia, in British Columbia’s outrageously beautiful Kootenays, with cats, chickens, and wildlife, including a husband.  Publications include four and a half novels (one of them being a collaboration with Stewart Sloan), three volumes of short fiction, and a number of short stories and creative nonfiction in anthologies and on the CBC.

As an atheist and skeptic, Rebecca currently writes a blog for the Skeptic Ink Network on topics of  cultural commentary, religion from an apostate’s standpoint, and critique of pseudoarchaeological and other nonsense. On the other hand, she has always had a lively appreciation of the fantastical and terrifying, and takes pleasure in suspending her disbelief when fiction is involved.

Rebecca B.



THE GIL TRILOGY: Lady in Gil, 1996, Scion’s Lady, 1997, and Lady Pain, 1998,  Victor Gollancz Ltd, London and Ace, New York.

Temutma, with Stewart Sloan, 1998, Asia2000, Hong Kong,

German: Temutma, Cologne, spraybooks, 2015, ISBN: 978-3-945684-02-3, Paperback, Temutma, Zurich, 2000

Cadon, Hunter, 2015,  Loom Press, UK.


Hong Kong Macabre, 1994, Hong Kong Horrors, HK.

Hong Kong Grotesque, 1994, Hong Kong Horrors, HK.

The Lateral Truth: an apostate’s Bible stories, 2007,  Scroll Press, Prince George.

Suchen
ende

Rebecca Bradley

Castlegar, British Columbia

Skeptisch

Geboren ist Rebecca Bradley in Vancouver, und schon als Kind war klar, dass Lesen und Schreiben zu einer großen Leidenschaft fürs Leben werden sollte. Ihr Hochschulstudium der Archäologie schloss sie mit der Promotion in Cambridge ab. Neben Forschungsprojekten in Ägypten und dem Sudan verbrachte sie eine Zeitlang als Hausfrau in Nordirland, arbeitete in Kuwait als Redakteurin für Publikationen des Kuwait Institute for Scientific Research, während ihr Mann an der Universität lehrte, war als Verlegerin in Hongkong tätig und unterrichtete Archäologie und kreatives Schreiben in Calgary und an der Berliner Humboldt–Universität. Wo sie auch lebte, überall war sie neben ihrer hauptberuflichen Tätigkeit stets auch schriftstellerisch aktiv.

Seit 2010 lebt sie glücklich mit Katzen, Hühnern und wilden Tieren, ein Ehemann inbegriffen, auf einem Bauernhof in Ootischenia in der unerhört schönen Region der Kootenays im Südosten von British Columbia. Bislang hat sie viereinhalb Romane veröffentlicht (den halben zusammen mit Stewart Sloan), drei Kurzgeschichtensammlungen sowie eine ganze Reihe weiterer kürzerer wissenschaftlicher Texte und Essays in Anthologien und für den kanadischen Rundfunk CBC radio.

Als Atheistin und Skeptikerin schreibt Rebecca derzeit einen Blog für das Skeptic Ink Network. Sie befasst sich dort mit kulturellen Themen, Fragen der Religion vom Standpunkt eines vom Glauben Abgefallenen sowie mit der Kritik an pseudowissenschaftlichem Gerede auf dem Gebiet der Archäologie sowie von Unsinn im Allgemeinen. Gleichzeitig war sie schon immer äußerst fasziniert von allem, was in das Gebiet des Fantastischen und Furcht einflößenden fällt, weswegen sie liebend gern und immer wieder ihren Unglauben und ihre Skepsis zeitweilig aussetzt, sobald es um erzählende Literatur geht.

Rebecca B.

Links

Rebecca Bradleys Blog The Lateral Truth

Rebecca Bradleys Autorenseite auf amazon.com

Aktuelles Interview

Bibliographie

ROMANE

THE GIL TRILOGY: Lady in Gil, 1996, Scion’s Lady, 1997, and Lady Pain, 1998,  Victor Gollancz Ltd, London and Ace, New York.

Temutma, mit Stewart Sloan, 1998, Asia2000, Hong Kong,
Deutsch: Temutma, Köln, spraybooks, 2015, ISBN: 978-3-945684-02-3, Paperback, Temutma, Zürich, 2000

Cadon, Hunter, 2015,  Loom Press, UK.

KURZGESCHCHTENSAMMLUNGEN

Hong Kong Macabre, 1994, Hong Kong Horrors, HK.

Hong Kong Grotesque, 1994, Hong Kong Horrors, HK.

The Lateral Truth: an apostate’s Bible stories, 2007,  Scroll Press, Prince George.